Clubs & Activities

  • Club List 2018-2019

    Academic Team: Ms. Sprouse (jsprouse@rcps.us) 

     

    Archery Club:  Ms. Sink (lsink@rcps.us) 

    Archery club:  Open to all 3 grade levels, no experience needed.  Dues are $5 for the year and the club will meet 2 to 3 times a month runs from Nov 1 to end of March.  Club meeting times and dates will be available at the end of October.  See the club sponsor, Ms. Sink, with any questions.  

     

    Chess Club: Mrs. Rubin (srubin@rcps.us)

    Cave Spring Middle Chess Club will begin meeting every other Monday from 3:30-4:30 in Room 377 starting on Sept. 9. No experience required. Meetings are unplugged; no electronic devices. Students are welcome to bring water and a small snack. Club permission forms are located on the round document holder in guidance. Students should be picked up no later than 4:30 in the car rider line off Brambleton Ave. ~ Sandy Rubin 772-7560 or srubin@rcps.us

    Meeting Dates:

    • 9 & 23
    • 7 & 21
    • 4 & 18
    • 2 & 16
    • 13 & 27
    • 10 & 24
    • 9 & 23
    • 13 & 27
    • May 11

     

    Drama Club:  Mrs. Long (rjlong@rcps.us)

    Drama club offers students of all ages and abilities the opportunity to gain confidence and performance skills in a fun and engaging environment.  We put on a huge show each year in February.  

     

    FCA: Mr. Wyre (rwyre@rcps.us)  
    The Fellowship of Christian Athletes is a voluntary student-led group that meets on Thursdays, 7:40am in the gym.  

     

    Golf Club:  Mike Brancati, Sponsor (wmbrancati@gmail.com)

    Open to 6th and 7th graders only.   No experience needed.  Golf clubs provided.  Small cost for the purchase of specialized restricted flight golf balls.  Club meets during the fall semester from August to October primarily on Friday afternoons.  Contact the club sponsor, Mr. Brancati via email with any questions. 

     

    Green Team: Mrs. Bowen (cbowen@rcps.us) and Mrs. Kalafut (jkalafut@rcps.us)

    The Green Team is an environmentally focused club open to all CSMS students. Our meetings are generally twice a month from 3:30 to 4:30. We volunteer for our environment and educate ourselves and our community by collecting recycling, stenciling storm drains, planting trees and advocating for the use of reusable water bottles and fountain  fillers to reduce bottled water waste in our school.  All students are welcome and there is no long term commitment, so come as you are and come when you can!

      

    Help Save the Next Girl: Mrs. Caterina (scaterina@rcps.us), Ms. Robinson (lrobinson@rcps.us), Ms. Weidner (sweidner@rcps.us), and Ms. Whittaker (mwhittaker@rcps.us)

    Help Save the Next Girl was founded in honor of Morgan Harrington, a missing Virginia Tech Student originally from Roanoke. The HSTNG club focuses on empowering girls to grow into strong women. The Cave Spring Middle School chapter was founded during the 2017-2018 school year. Some of the events the girls participated in included a self-defense class, mindfulness training, and cyber safety class. We focused on raising awareness and confidence.  

    The club is open to all girls grades 6-8th. HSTNG will meet aprox 1x per month. There is a $5 dues for the year, T-shirts are available for $10, hoodies for $20. No girl will be turned away for not being able to pay the dues. Please feel free to contact Sarah Caterina, School Social Worker with any questions.

     

    Prevention:  Mr. Hayes (thayes@rcps.us)
    The Prevention Club is a group of students focused on prevention, who will assist the Roanoke County Prevention Council in understanding and identifying issues that will help young people stay free of violence, alcohol, and drugs. The Prevention Club wants students who have ideas and concerns about prevention issues affecting youth in our school and surrounding community…such as violence, alcohol and other drugs, bullying, traffic safety, etc..    

     

    Robotics: Mr. Rawlings (srawlings@rcps.us)

    Robotics Club: Welcome to a maker space where building and programming robots to meet various challenges is key. members have a chance to complete against fellow students and to compete at regional competitions. Satisfy your inner geekiness and amaze your friends!

     

    SCA: Ms. Ficarro (jficarro@rcps.us)

    The Student Council Association (SCA) is a “leadership learning organization for student leaders. The SCA provides learning experiences in leadership and opportunities to practice the citizenship skills necessary for effective participation in our democratic society, in school, and the community.” (VSCA) The goal of CSMS SCA is to help student leaders build student leadership and get involved in the school and community.

     

    Yearbook: Mr. Rawlings (srawlings@rcps.us)