Return to Headlines

School board announces new principal, assistant principals

The Roanoke County School Board has selected Arrin Alaniz as the new principal at Cave Spring Elementary School.  Alaniz will replace Jodi Poff, who will retire at the end of July.  Alaniz currently is the assistant principal at Mountain View Elementary School and has been so since she joined Roanoke County Public Schools in 2016.  Alaniz holds a bachelor’s degree and a master’s in curriculum and instruction.  Both degrees are from Carson-Newman University.  She also holds an educational specialist’s degree in educational administration and supervision.

The board also selected seven new assistant principals (effective July 1):

  • Kevin Richardson – assistant principal at WBHS
  • Hannah Praeter – assistant principal at WBHS
  • Elizabeth Mauck – assistant principal at NHS
  • Holly Deaner – assistant principal at Green Valley Elem.
  • Martha Burton – assistant principal at Clearbrook Elem./Back Creek Elem.
  • Christine Stanley – assistant principal at Glenvar Elem.
  • Tabitha Meyer – assistant principal at Mountain View Elem.